Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 6th, 2008

BBQ

This is not my Tri-Tip I borrowed this picture from Google images

Now that I am eating meat once again I have been craving making a tri-tip on the grill, so yesterday I did just that. It came out just right.  When I was married, I never manned the grill. I did all the other stuff and the ex handled all of the grilling. Well now that I have been on my own for over 2 1/2 years I have finally mastered the art of the BBQ.  Tri-tip, 15 minutes a pound, indirect heat for med-rare.  I also made a yummy potato salad. I have a cookbook called Homeland Recipes, and they are recipes from all over the mid western sates.  Iowa has a wonderful recipe for potatosalad.  So today we make french dip sammies with the leftover tri-tip.  I am getting hungry thinking about all this

It was a low key fourth, D came over and we played scrabble and BBQ’d.  Had a few beers and went outside to see if we could get a visual of any of the fireworks over the valley.  We saw lots of shows, but they are so far away it really isn’t very spectacular. That’s ok, there were enough boom-booms to keep the dogs a little nervous. 

Tomorrow I am going to attempt ribs on the grill. I have never done them. I am thinking of a couple hours in the oven very low, then finishing them off on the grill with a little sauce.  I went to the farmers market today and got some yummy corn on the cob and green beans. Should be good. I figured out that Jake will eat green beans if I cook them with onion and a slice of bacon.  I know they are not as healthy that way, but at least he is eating something green.

Read Full Post »